top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

First Rain, Not Yet...

1108 Miles

80 average mpg $9.60/mile


Only 2 days ridden this week. I ended up taking a second day off due to family issues and then when I opened the garage on Saturday there was water coming out of the sky! Yep, this is Arizona where the start of Summer is usually punctuated by an end to a months long dry spell. It looked pretty bleak on Saturday and my rule is that I won't ride in to work in the rain but I will ride home. Because I don't want to have wet feet all day (not to mention other parts) while at work but once I get home I can jump in a warm shower and they never feel better than after a ride home in the rain. However, this particular Saturday was simply a teaser for the monsoons that are to come. I really wish that I had rode in because the sprinkles stopped about 15 minutes into my ride and then when I got back to Phoenix it was the most beautiful day that I have seen here in months.

I did get a few minutes this week to go by the dealership and they had my new windscreen. No explanation about how they could have mixed them up. It's a puzzle since the boxes are different sizes. I found another few minutes to install it and it was easy although the instructions leave something to be desired again. When removing the original w/s you must remove all of the hardware from the bike. Then, you will install the brace with the two short screws, taking care that the holes are lined up for the other two holes through the backing plates, tightening the short screws completely because only then does the w/s go on as you cannot tighten the short screws with the w/s on.

I got the total for my insurance so the dollars per mile is now even more accurate. The last tankful was probably the most accurate that I can expect so far since I now have everything installed and I was rode more conservatively this week than last week. And that tank was 79 mpg.

Other than those few things there is not much this week since I only was able to ride two days.


yep, that's my little pickup

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

8k service

25Nov18, 7964 miles, 76.814 mpg ave. I did the 8000 mile service today. Everything looks good, tight and wearing well. The chain finally looked a little dirty so I cleaned that for the first time and

bottom of page