top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

5000 miles!

21Oct18, 5481 miles, 73.16 mpg last tank, 69.16 mpg 2nd to last tank

I did skip last week because life caught up to me again, there just are not enough hours in the weekend for me.

That seems to be it for getting a consistent 80 mpg. My mileage seems to be dropping. One of the tanks this week was under 70 mpg. I am still happy with that because I didn't expect more than 60 anyway. I can only speculate on why I saw such a mileage drop. I can assume that the 20 mph headwind I had on my way home on Saturday had a little to do with the last tank. What probably really hurt the previous tank was hitting the 5000 mile..., um milestone. For the first time I took off quick, revved it up to 6k on the tach and generally ran it a little harder.

Let me go over what I did for a break in procedure. For the first 500 miles I did not rev the engine over 3000 rpm, the first oil change was early, about 560 miles and I kept it under 60 mph. Up to 2000 miles I did not rev it over 4000 rpm and kept it under 70 mph, with a couple of exceptions. Up to 5000 miles I did not rev it over 5000 rpm (and to that rarely) and never had it over 80 mph. We'll see if I had any effect on the durability. I broke in my pickup in a similar fashion and at 180k miles the engine is tight and sounds great.

I took it out this morning, mounted my phone and pulled up the 'car performance' app. I did a couple of zero to 60 blasts. The first one I got about 7 and a half seconds but I bounced on the rev limiter in first gear. I ran a second one, shifting before 6k and got about 6.5 sec. Looking up online I see that this bike is rated about 4.9 sec. and I think that I could come close under better conditions and if I thrash it hard. But this was just a reference run though and I wasn't too worried about a best time.



Now that it's got some scratches and I've put over 5000 miles on it, I can see that this bike should be easy to live with for 100k miles.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page