top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

Idiot of the Month

28Oct18, 5910 Miles, 77.238 Average mileage

It is starting to get chilly in the mornings. Not Chicago chilly but Phoenix chilly. 50 degrees on a bike can feel pretty cold when you just got out of summer. It really isn't too bad except for the first 15 miles in the dark is fairly cold on the legs. Once I get on the freeway the sun is peeking up and it warms up quick. I have been resisting pulling the long underwear out because it means wearing it all day and since it's still getting into the 80s and even 90 today I don't want to do that.

I have said here before how surprised I am with this bike and how good it is for my purpose. So far, there are only a couple of little things that I don't like. The first is really small, but the clock runs a little slow. It's only about 1 or 2 minutes a month but I would prefer it if the clock ran fast if it had to be off at all. The other thing is the transmission. It is the same transmission that every Honda that I have ever owned had. Don't get me wrong, the Honda transmission is great. It's dependable and it shifts with an authoritative feel. But it clunks into gear and sometimes it's difficult to find neutral. Sometimes I find neutral a little too easy, like when accelerating. I guess that I am just surprised that Honda hasn't improved it after 40 years. I shouldn't complain about it at all because it is head and shoulders above other bikes that I've had.

I would also like to see a little lower rpm on the freeway and considering how well it does off the line I am still thinking about changing the rear sprocket for a smaller size. I'm just not sure if I want to tackle that myself. I will probably ask the shop about it in a few months since I plan on having them do the 12k service anyway.

OK, I am going to start another new feature, Idiot of the Month! This weeks prize would go to a guy that was getting on the freeway as I was on my way home Saturday. I was in the right lane holding about 70 mph in the 65 zone when this person came down the on ramp, accelerated past 70 mph but then when he caught up to me he slowed down and matched my speed while still on the right. With no one else within 500 feet of us he looked at me, made an agitated hand gesture, hit his brakes, swerved around behind me, paused then swerved in front of a minivan that was coming up in the second lane, then accelerated by me on the left while telling me that I'm number one. At no time did I alter my speed. At no time did he signal. Oddly, he did signal the next lane change as he was accelerating well past 90 though. I am still confused as to why he couldn't pass me in the on lane at the speed he was already going and left me out of his delusions completely. He still had plenty of room to do so because this was one of those lanes that if you don't change lanes you get right back off the freeway.


I would think that nothing would surprise me anymore but just about everyday someone somehow manages to do just that.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page