top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

Definitely the random distribution fairy

2552 miles

70.95 last tank $4.75/mile


Yep this week the guys came back with a vengeance. Of the dozen or so times that I was bullied either by tailgating, cutting me off or passing too close (aka lane-sharing) all but two of the ones that I could determine a gender were male. If fact one guy came up behind me in the carpool lane so fast that I was bracing for impact, tailgated for about a mile then squeezed by me on the right swerving back in front of me as I hit the brakes. As he went by I got a good look into his car and could see that there was no one else in it. Some people would rather spend their money on expensive citations than a good car. There are even signs posted on the freeway stating that the fine for driving alone in the carpool lane starts at $450.

Yes, the mileage on the last tank was even lower but still over 70. I think that I am getting on the throttle a little more than I was before. I feel like the break-in period has about run it's course but I am still trying to keep the rpm's down until it hits 5000 miles. Additionally, on Thursday I had a headwind of about 40 mph coming home, but at least I avoided the dust storm. Because I believed the news when they said there would be a worse dust storm on the ride home on Friday I drove the Toyota to work and again, it was a pretty good riding day with just a little wind in the morning.

I ordered a top box for the bike. I just could not bring myself to drop $300 on the Honda box though. I bought a cheap one, I mean really cheap. It got good reviews and it looks like it will fit the rack and hold my helmet, so for $60 I hope that it will hold up. If not, then, at one fifth the price of the Honda box I could afford to buy another one and call it a consumable. But I will post here about how happy I am with it.

parked at work in front of guard shack with 1/2 cover

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page