top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

First Week Over With

Updated: Jun 24, 2018

564 miles

81 average mpg $41.78/mile


After riding this bike for one week I am very happy that I did this. I filled it twice this week and got over 80 miles per gallon on both tanks. I am sure that will drop after I add the larger windscreen and a little more weight. Oddly, the thing I was most concerned about was other drivers. Yes, there are nuts out there but strangely most drivers stay away from the bike. In fact I would say that when I am driving my semi I have less total room between other cars than I do on this bike. They don't cut me off one percent as often as they do my semi. They don't tailgate as often (although I don't really care when driving the truck). They don't even hang next to me as much, although it is much easier to change my speed on the bike.

As long as I'm moving the heat has not been that much of an issue but it doesn't seem to be getting to hot when sitting still (although I am roasting). The only problem with the heat is the bike is not parked in the shade when I'm at work and the handgrips get hot. I bought a half cover for it and it helps a little.

What I am really surprised about is how much I can stuff into the 'frunk', the storage where the fuel tank would usually be. The first day I strapped my lunch bucket to the 'bitch' seat and that worked fine, but the next day I looked at the storage after I had put the stuff in my pockets into it and realized that the lunch pail may fit also. So the last few days I have just had my backpack and nothing else showing. When I get the saddlebags mounted I will have even more room.


I changed the oil and filter for the first time this morning. I think that it will be easier after I install the center stand. But it wasn't bad. The lower fairing was easy to remove with just 2 hex screws and 4 pins. Once that was off the filter was easy to get to with a spring filter wrench and the drain bolt was easily accessed from the left side with an extension. The only problem was trying to figure out how much of the gallon I should pour into the crankcase since the bottle the oil comes in has no way to see how much is left, I just had to guess by weight and feel. I ordered a measuring cup set that should help with this problem.


spring filter wrench

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page