top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

It was hot...

1525 miles

80 average mpg $7.26/mile


Yep, it got over 110 this week. I rode to work all five days this week and it was very hot a couple of those days. The bike seemed to do just fine though, it idles low enough that I don't think that it is in too much danger when sitting still even though there is no fan to push air through the radiator. I did get riding gloves though and it has been very helpful this week. They are great when I first get on the bike at work because despite the half cover that I put on it the hand grips are still hot. Riding on the freeway the gloves allow the air to flow through them but because less sweat evaporates they are actually cooler than the extremely dry, hot air.

Searching for summer driving gloves was weird though. When I put that into Amazon's search bar I got a bunch of black gloves. Black! All black riding gloves are not at all helpful for summer in Arizona. The ones that I did end up with are a nice, high visibility orange. Yes, the palm is black leather but it like wrapping the hot hand grip in leather before riding. The part of the back of the glove that is black is very light and breathable. These were are good choice.

A word about the miles shown above: That mileage is the mileage at the last fill up. So that's why there is only about 400 miles from the previous week even though I rode all 5 days. But I am surprised that I seem to be getting around 80 mpg consistently. That is mind-boggling since several other riders on the NC700 forum are getting less than 70. I can only guess that a steady commute with few lights helps the mileage. I still need to clock the speedo but even if it's off by 5 percent that is still over 75 mpg. I don't think that it is though because my pickup was showing almost exactly 100 miles round trip to work and I have clocked it and know that it is off by about 3 or 4 percent in the other direction which would mean that the actually mileage is around 103 to 104 and that is about what the bike is showing.

The new windscreen is helping a bit, when running 70 mph the wind doesn't threaten to push me off the bike. I may go with a bigger one at some point but if I spend more money for extras the next thing will probably be to upgrade the seat.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page