top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

Sad 2 months

7Sep18 2957 miles 78.9 last tank $4.27/mile

Clumsy me fell off the back of my pickup while trying to load my bike. I broke 4 ribs and was down for almost 2 months. I still am not back to work as of this writing because my work requires a 'new employment' drug screen after FMLA which now includes hair. The lab is taking it's time. I wish that I had known this so that I could have gone in for the screening last week.

The hospital wants their money but they are holding up my short term disability payments by not releasing my records to the insurance company. They claimed that I never filled out a request for release even though they released my records for the first two visits already. I am beginning to go stir crazy sitting here wondering when I am going back.

Anyway the purpose of this blog is to talk about the NC700X in particular and commuting by bike in general. The bike came out great even though it fell on it's side from 3 feet up. It only got the left side box scratched up. I wasn't able to check it out for several weeks and I was afraid that I would have to buy the entire saddlebag setup again for just the one box but the whole thing is fine. It just pushed past the support which it would do before anyway. I adjusted the support as much as a could and then put a pipe insulator around both of them to discourage the pushing past and to dampen the shock, something that I had thought about doing before. There is a small scratch on the handlebar end and the left front fork reflector is bent.

The Top box I ordered the day after I got hurt came a week later and I finally was able to install it a month and a half later. This box was much cheaper than the Honda box but more difficult to install, I had to drill holes in the rack. But it is very secure and holds my helmet.

As soon as I thought I was able I rode down to the gas station and Walmart. I was tired when I got back but felt really good. That's when I knew I was about ready to go back. A few days later I rode out to Florence Junction at 5 in the morning, I've been having trouble sleeping too. Despite the August summer weather here in AZ I found myself wishing that I had worn a jacket, it was actually cold! But it was a good ride and I was ready to begin commuting back to work again. So hopefully next week I will have the next update.



Just cosmetic damage


The top box holds my helmet securely


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page