top of page
  • Writer's picturetinkergr

Week Two, Ready to Commute!

892 miles

80 average mpg $11.48/mile


I ended up taking off last Wednesday and called the dealer to see if my accessories came in. They had! I drove down there and picked them up, took them back home and tore into the boxes to see how they look in person. The windscreen is exactly the same as the one that came on the bike. I called the dealership and was told that's the larger one and that the previous owner must have put that one on it. I informed him that the bike was purchased new as a 2015 and there was no previous owner. I looked at the stock number on the box and it is the number for the larger w/s. He said that all he can do is order it again and we'll see if he can get the right one in.

I did get the centerstand installed Wednesday though. It went on fairly easy until I got to the springs. I looked at some Youtube videos and one guy had a brilliant idea; use a ratcheting tie down strap. The hook on the end is too large for the spring but he used 80# fishing line, coiled up about a dozen times. I didn't want to run up to the outdoor store so I looked around my shop and found an 'S' hook that looked like it would fit. I was worried that it wouldn't be strong enough but that was not only unfounded but also it was exactly strong enough. After I pulled the spring back into position, I was able to bend the 'S' hook out of the way and the spring popped into place. Success! Putting it up on the centerstand is not too difficult. It's not the easiest bike I've had but, by far, not the hardest.

It was well over 100 degrees this last week. The earliest I rode home was Saturday when it was around 106. Sitting still at a light, my pants would begin to get hot but as long as I'm moving, it's tolerable. They like to say around here that “it's a dry heat”, which is not helpful on a bike. But, the monsoons are coming and soon the humidity will be up and I wind up riding home in the rain one night. I used to do that all the time when I had my Virago, but I only lived 10 miles from work then.

Sunday into Monday I installed the rear carrier and saddlebags. The biggest takeaway here is that the Honda installation instruction leave a lot to be desired and it is VERY easy to drop pieces down under the fuel tank. I was able to retrieve most by pulling the plastic lining out and sticking a magnetic pickup in, but alas I managed to drop the pin lock for the rear seat. It's such a tiny part that I had no hope of finding it again. Currently it's being held up with jewelry wire and I ordered 4 from Amazon, original Honda equipment for 57 cents each, plus shipping. Hopefully, I can manage to be a little less clumsy in the future but just in case I'll have 3 more.

Monday evening I decided to stop in the Honda dealership and give them the windscreen. Luckily, they had the new one in and it is the right one! Tomorrow I install that and then I'm done with the installations. I finally have enough room to carry my rain gear, extra tie-downs and whatever else I rarely use but may suddenly need.

I am taking an extra day off this weekend due to a family emergency so I will get no more than 4 days of riding in this week.



High vis tape is very helpful

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page